Noir Escape Party Launch- Rum Punch Galore!

In the heart of Bricklane, is a hidden gem called Dark Sugars.

Dark Sugars is a black owned cocoa bar situated on Hanbury Street. I’ve spoken about them a few times because they are genuinely one of my favourite establishments in London from their actual products to this incredible wall art depicting black royalty. (I’ll be doing a full post on them in the coming months.)

Directly behind Dark Sugars is another hidden gem who are infamous for their amazing rum punch and cocktails.

When I was invited to the launch of their bar, food and games event, I was super excited. Mainly because I love all things rum but also, I love seeing the diverse events that take place. As a twenty something, it can be a struggle to find a great event that isn’t primarily clubbing.

Arriving fashionably late, I walked into great vibes. It was my first time seeing Dark Sugars at night too. One of the bars was beautifully lit up with multicoloured uv lights whilst the other had been converted into a fairground of treats from popcorn and slush puppies to fresh candy floss.

A great selection of music was played, from hip hop and rnb to funky house and bashment whilst the outside area hosted giant jenga, connect four and other outdoor games.

The star of the night however was the rum punch. Without blasting my own fanfare, my rum punch recipe is pretty incredible and I rarely find many I like more than mine. The punch had a blend of tropical and citrus flavours that complimented the Wray and Nephews perfectly. It was strong but not overpowering. Just enough to have you on a great wave whilst tasting addictive.

I missed out on the actual food because of my diva arrival but feedback from some of the guests was that it went down a treat.

I’m really looking forward to seeing this event become a residential spot and will definitely be at the next one.

Follow Noir Escape on social media (@noirescape_) for more information about their upcoming events and how to taste their superb food and drink.

The Food Doll

Leave a comment